Disconnecting to Stay Connected

My husband and I are preparing to take a vacation, just the two of us, to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We’re taking an extensive trip that will span a total 10 calendar days, have us driving more than 3,000 miles and in the car, one on one, for more than 44 hours. We haven’t taken a trip together in the car since 2013 when we drove to Tennessee in the middle of Winter Storm Cleon – boy was that ever fun! Before that, the longest trip we’d taken together was our honeymoon to Table Rock Lake in 2005.

The last trip we took was a great deal of fun – despite the crummy weather. We listened to the radio (I have satellite radio so we had quite the range of music to enjoy) and sang along to some old favorites from high school and had a blast doing so. We snapped pictures of the display when really ridiculous songs came on and shared them with the World of Facebook. I’m sure that was super annoying to all our Facebook friends – really, who cares what song is playing in your car?

I fully expect to enjoy ridiculous songs from the 80’s and 90’s again this time around, but I won’t be posting them to Facebook – mostly because I can’t now that I’ve removed the Facebook app from my phone. So, Facebook friends, rejoice! Your newsfeeds will be free from images of my car’s radio display. My husband still has Facebook on his phone, so I’m sure there will still be some updates here and there that he posts (and tags me in), but yours truly won’t be logging in.

But I’d like to take it a step further and put the phone down completely. Complete disconnection… Putting the phone down for our trip will allow more opportunity for connectedness between my husband and I while we drive for those 44 hours. He will be driving most of the hours because he prefers to, and not staring at my phone will allow me the ability to truly enjoy the sights of our beautiful nation. And what good is a co-pilot who’s not also watching the road?

Disconnecting will also save battery power for taking pictures of the landscape to share with our children, for phone calls home to tell them goodnight, and for Googling local sites and restaurants for visiting. 10 years ago when we traveled to Table Rock Lake, we did not have smartphones, Facebook or a computer. We had each other and a camera. Times are different now, but I think I will put away the smartphone in exchange for one on one time with my hunny, reminiscent of our honeymoon 10 years ago.

Maybe we’ll even leave the laptop at home? However, I will take my Kindle b/c what’s a road trip without a good book? I saw on Amazon the other day that Ania Ahlborn has a new release.

Have you disconnected to reconnect with loved ones? It’s been on my mind a lot lately. How did you make it work?

Leave a Reply

